To be Gentler to my Soul…

That was a passage that held so much revelation when I was reading Daily Office yesterday.

“When we are busier than what God requires, we do violence to ourselves:

There is a pervasive form of contemporary violence… activism and overwork. The rush and pressure of modern life are a form, perhaps the most common form, of its innate violence. To allow oneself to be carried away by a multitude of conflicting concerns, to surrender to too many demands, to commit oneself to too many projects, to want to help everyone in everything, is to succumb to violence… It kills the root of inner wisdom which makes work fruitful.” – Thomas Merton

And in doing violence to ourselves, we are unable to love others in and through the love of Christ.”

Wow – violence indeed.

Very thankful for the revelation, and the assurance of how God is sovereign, I do not have to be concerned over every single thing, but only one thing – to follow Him and His direction, moment by moment.

Each time that I have the privilege of enjoying my off-day, I’m incredibly blessed by such insight. God is so, so good…and I’m going to take it with me to work from today onwards. To be gentler to my dear soul, and to completely entrust it to Him. God, help me!

Also spent a while yesterday looking through more pics that my sis uploaded of my niece’s 1st birthday. I can never get tired of looking at them!

Image

Image

Image

Image

She’s such a sweetie-pie!

Had a good moment of gratitude in the morning too, when I made a super-healthy breakfast for Bren and I…and he slurped every bit of it up!

It surprised me cos’ it’s not the most tasty, but still very nutritious – fresh orange juice + porridge oats w blueberries, raspberries, almonds, sunflower seeds, sultanas, dried cranberries, raisins, sesame seeds, and a sprinkling of sprouted flaxseeds w goji berry. Trusting that it gave us that extra boost for good health!

Image

Bren has been having very long and exhausting days at work these past few weeks. It’s preparation for a major event launch, and while I’m really proud of him and his dedication – plus, it’s fun to help go thr’ his ppt presentations and give feedback while I play ‘audience’ – ultimately, I’m praying for His grace and favor to be upon him, and for me to know how to support him as a wife during this challenging period.

Lord, teach me…

4 thoughts on “To be Gentler to my Soul…

  1. mummywords says:

    Your niece is such a sweetie, and how much she has grown! Happy birthday to her. 🙂

    Yup, sometimes we have to take care of ourselves first before we can take care of others.. have a blessed weekend!

  2. Cayce says:

    words of wisdom indeed.
    I’ve been having mad days at work, not what I wanted when I changed jobs.. and quite lost how I can fix it. and I hate that I hardly have any energy for anything else after..

    you’re such an inspiration!

    • cookiesrainandlove says:

      Aww, I get days like those too…I know what you mean.

      Guess it boils down to what we prioritise our time for. It’s tough, especially in the beginning, but keep to your chosen priorities and you’ll see the difference it makes to your days! I always try to make sure my team at work gets their rest and a balance in life, cos’ in that way they’ll be happier and more productive at work! 😉

      Praying for things to work out better for you..take care.

Leave a Reply

