Current read

Am soaking in my new book “Grace for the Good Girl” by Emily Freeman. When I first stumbled onto reviews for this, I was drawn into the title.

Have always been viewed {and view myself} as “a good girl”. It’s not something I proudly share, but has always been something that came quite naturally to me. The desire to please, the desire to obey, the desire to just be good.

Throughout the years however, have realised there was a deeper thing going on in me called “people-pleasing tendencies”, and I would be the first to admit that I really struggled with it. It wasn’t till many years later, that I finally learnt to simply please God, and not to seek the approval of people around me. It was a long and hard journey, but I’m thankful that I’ve made some important progress in this.

I’m now learning how to receive – to receive more of His grace, more of His love, … just plainly receive. It used to be so tough, because I’d feel like I’d to reciprocate and do something back. Or I’d feel guilty if I didn’t have the capacity to bless in return. But I’m learning that God’s definition of good is not how this world defines. And He wants me to be my free & authentic self, to abandon the “should” and “should not”, and just allow Him to love me.

My assistant told me today that tomorrow’s dinner will be on her. I happily replied, “Okay!” She then chimed in and added, “And you get to choose where we eat!” “Okay!” πŸ’•

I think I’m getting better at this. πŸ˜‰ just receive, Jacinta. Just let God love you.

{jan 13: what you are reading} #capturinglifelaughterlove

2015/01/img_5371.jpg

Looking foward to reading more of this wonderful book…a book that God is using to heal me. 🌺

2 thoughts on “Current read

Leave a Reply

