My Homemaking Journey: March ’15

Since I’ve had about 2 weeks worth of the stay-home wife experience, I thought it would be nice to jot down my thoughts as each month passes. It’s such a new journey, and I don’t want to take the things I learnt, and things I’m still in the process of learning, for granted. And hopefully, with each month that passes, my homemaking journey will grow into one that continues to glorify Him, the One who is the Center of our marriage.

In February, the huge difference was how I intentionally made time for me. It wasn’t that I didn’t do it in the past, but as a homemaker, it’s very easy to get caught up in doing many things for others, and as a result, neglecting yourself. You tend to dismiss your desires, and before you know it, the irritable, short-tempered person takes over the sweet, sweet personality that your husband usually sees. I’m sure I’m not the only one who feels this way??

We need to serve out of what we already have. We cannot give others what we do not have.

So I’m learning that I’ve to first make sure that my needs are met, to set aside time to just be nourished.

Here are a few of my favorites:
πŸ’› reading a good novel at the couch
πŸ’™ baking something delicious
πŸ’œ watching the sun set @ Harbourfront
πŸ’š taking a stroll @ Botanical Gardens
❀️ enjoying the breeze @ East Coast Park
πŸ’— getting a magazine & sipping on soup-of-the-day at a cafe in town

2015/03/img_6170.jpg

When I take better care of myself, Bren gets greeted by a more cheerful wife. I’m every bit better for him when I’m in a cheerful spirit. I have more capacity in my heart to listen to his work woes, more energy to simply be there for him, not feeling drained out by the time he comes home. The atmosphere at home is so important in affecting our moods, and I believe that as wives, we have the ability to set the tone at home to be one of good cheer, one that is loving…but it all begins first by our hearts being taken care of.

πŸ’— my little love note for you: so go ahead – make that spa appointment, arrange something special just for yourself…do something that you’ll enjoy {without necessarily spending a bomb}! You are so loved, by our Almighty Father. πŸ™‚

5 thoughts on “My Homemaking Journey: March ’15

Leave a comment