Permission to rest…

It’s yet another Saturday morning, but it feels a little different. 

In fact, I already noticed the difference yesterday when I stepped out of my house to buy lunch. It could be the breezy, rainy weather that is soothing…or it could be the many quiet moments that I’ve been savouring…or it could also be because I’ve been intentionally slowing my steps as I walk, pacing myself to a different beat. 

One that was almost forced on me, but something that I’m learning to embrace right now. 

Y’see, I was told on Wednesday by the Gynae after our detailed scan that my placenta is low-lying. He didn’t exactly get me worried {though Bren & my parents are a bit more anxious}, but he did instruct me not to move around much – no bending, squatting, or brisk walks. 

So I’ve been slowing my steps a lot, and taking more breaks in between tasks during the day. And I have to say that it has brought me to such a position of deeper rest, not just physically, but emotionally as well. Which was quite a surprise to me. ๐Ÿ™‚

This weekend, I’m reminding myself to allow the days to just unfold. Not to have any specific agenda {though we do have a few appointments made}, not to rush through things with an outcome-oriented perspective, not to push for my own desires to be met. But to simply rest. 

Rest, rest, rest. My soul, please rest in the Lord’s goodness. ๐Ÿ’ž

I’m seeking to entrust myself wholly into His tender care, casting all of my concerns – big and small, present and future, all onto Him.

โ˜€๏ธ Woke up before 6 this morning, and as I took my time to listen to the birds chirp and leisurely prepared lemon water and washed blueberries for our breakfast, a sense of calm washed over me. 

A knowing – that God is here, that God is with me, and He so loves me

I can rest. 

He gives me permission {and even instructs me!} to rest. 

  
My heart is excited to see how these 2 days will turn out. 

May you have a restful, beautiful weekend too, my dears! โœŒ๐Ÿป๏ธ

5 thoughts on “Permission to rest…

  1. tjustincomer says:

    The rabbis debated as to the proper speed that one should walk. After much discussion through centuries of literature, the consensus fell that the more moderate pace, slower walk is more dignified. Then, you have Jesus… Jesus was known for walking slowly at some times, and at other times would appear to walk close to 30 miles in a single day. The point, which is the same as when he healed on the Sabbath, is that there is a deeper rest available – when we cease from our work and simply allow God to work through us. It’s definitely something to chew on…
    Grace and peace in Christ, and may God grant you a healthy child ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Cayce says:

    I had a rather smooth pregnancy despite a low-lying placenta throughout my whole pregnancy with L, but of course I heeded the gynae’s advice on not squatting and walking too fast. don’t let it worry you too much, but of course take things slow in the meantime ๐Ÿ™‚

    love reading your posts of giving thanks!

    • cookiesrainandlove says:

      thank u dear friend! I can’t quite remember – did u have a c-section in the end, or was it a vaginal delivery? I’m not too worried about it too, but yes, have to be more cautious. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Cayce says:

        I had a c-section as he wanted to exit early at 36 weeks yet decided it was still more comfy inside and refused to budge, ha! yes take good care of yourself! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

