When the unexpected happens

It was a text. 

And many questions and replies followed.

Then came a call, just when I was trying to put my head back on the pillow to get some extra rest. 

I could hear the anxiety in my aunt’s voice, and sensed her frustration at not being able to get a cab. I told her I’ll pray, and yes, I’ll get my believing friends to pray too. 

I wrestled between the need to continue my rest for just a few minutes more, and the gnawing feeling I’d that I needed to quickly get out of bed and prepare to be ready at a moment’s notice, in case any help was needed. 

Then came the peace. 🙂

Oh, such a divine and enveloping peace, from my Jesus. 

At that moment, I just knew that things would be okay, no matter what. 

So I snoozed for a bit, sent out texts requesting for prayers, and even had the peace to wash the breakfast dishes before I headed out to the hospital. 

My grandma had a fall. 

One that made her giddy, nauseous and in great pain. 

She just turned 90, had been grieving over her late twin sister’ death, and basically…common sense tells us she would be at a high risk for injury if she had any type of fall. 

But Jesus. 🙂

He has always been, and always will be in control. I believe His protection was upon her, and as my dear prayer warriors called out to Him, His presence covered everything in this unexpected situation. 

While waiting outside the A&E, I’d the chance to chat more with the helper who was taking care of my grandma when it happened. Thank God for her alertness at getting another maid to help lift my grandma up from the floor when it happened.

She also showed me happy pictures that grandma and her took {selfies! who would have imagined, haha} when they got bored at home, which I thought was so cute. 

When Kaelyn went over with us to see her in the evening, grandma was in very good spirits. We were told that results from the CT scan and X-rays were okay, and right now, we are just waiting for a blood test result, and praying that she can be discharged soon. 

When we live right in the very core of Jesus’ love, there is so much joy and gratitude. 🙂 The peace that surpasses our understanding is a gift that keeps on giving. 

  
I left the hospital last night with so much thanksgiving just bubbling up all over my heart, not just because grandma seems to be doing better than we thought, but also because we got a chance to remind Kaelyn of how Jesus takes away our every fear, when she got a bit nervous entering the hospital and seeing many patients in wheelchairs. 

Slowly, and with a few hugs,  she got over her fear, and later could whisper a sweet prayer of thanksgiving for grandma’s dinner and uttered a prayer after me for grandma’s speedy recovery too. 

Unexpected situations can bring about so many unexpected blessings. 

Only because of Him who loves us. 💕

4 thoughts on “When the unexpected happens

Leave a Reply

